Skip to content
3 January 2011 / Liz Johns

The Unique Physique of Sean the Sheep

 

Does my bum look big in this?

sean

Hm … which way am I facing?

Don’t be alarmed, it’s not a growth requiring veterinary care, it’s merely the result of spending a year noshing on plentiful, fresh, green pastures with no restriction on intake i.e. a fat bum. One that any sheep worth its wool would be proud to display (maybe). Sean the Sheep was sheared recently and once the wool was off the most enormous derriere imaginable was uncovered.  Glancing from a distance you would almost believe that he was in the process of growing a second head. My shearer commented politely that he could do with a week or two off pasture, but I suspect that it would take more than couple of weeks to shift that lardy lump of a rump.

Fat pets

The fact of the matter is, my sheep are lifestyle sheep. They may be called farm animals, but to me they are pets. Their only job is to keep the grass down and in return they can have the run of the place, the assurance that they won’t end up on the dinner table and a friendly scratch on the rump every now and then. Not a bad life, eh? And of course, they have a plentiful supply of food, possibly a bit too much as Sean’s derriere attests.

But Sean the Sheep doesn’t care about what’s going on behind him. He doesn’t have access to a mirror or I believe any sense of personal awareness, so he doesn’t judge himself or get judged by the other sheep. As a result, he carries on eating, blissfully unaware of his enormous rump. He is, to all intents, the sheep with a most unique physique.

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. alienhippy / Jan 3 2011 10:57 pm

    Lovely post, I have always wanted a pet goat…I would call her Gertrude…lol
    I live in a city and even though I have plenty of garden I know my neighbours would not care for me keeping a goat. I have had chicken for many years but a fox got in and killed the lot. I was very upset by this and I really don’t like foxes much now, I know he/she was probably hungry, but I loved my Chickens.
    I wrote a post about my Rotty yesterday I think you might enjoy the read, it’s a bit mixed in with my life and faith but I think you will “get it” because you love animal so much.
    Love and hugs.
    Lisa. xx 🙂

    Like

    • Liz Johns / Jan 4 2011 9:18 am

      Hey Lisa,
      I’m pretty sure your neighbours wouldn’t take too kindly to a goat eating their veggies and flowers!
      I’ll definitely stop by to read about your Rotty.

      Until the next time
      🙂

      Like

  2. Rita Vanbeber / Jan 4 2011 7:09 am

    I cant get the picture just a square with a red X????

    Like

    • Liz Johns / Jan 4 2011 9:17 am

      Thanks for letting me know.
      I’m not sure what’s happening. The image appears fine with me (I’m viewing through Google Chrome), but I’ve deleted and uploaded the image again. See if that works.

      Like

  3. Raluca / Jan 5 2011 11:25 pm

    My mother has sheep as pets, too! I never thought I would actually see another person say this. :)) Their job is exactly the one you described. To keep the grass down and just hang around and be happy. We just had a baby new lamb on Christmas Eve. It is all white and that’s luck, as they say.

    Like

    • Liz Johns / Jan 6 2011 5:02 am

      Sheep make great pets, I recommend them to anyone 🙂 And lambs are just the cutest aren’t they? Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  4. Georgia / Jan 6 2011 7:00 am

    Sean is so cute! If I were sheep, I’d be proud of the lump that is the rump! He’s living the life even if he doesn’t know it and thats all the matters, you are so right. If you don’t mind my asking, how big is your yard? We don’t have a big back yard but having a sheep would be a great way to cut down on lawn mowing costs, it would help the environment and not to mention it would give a loving home to an animal! (I say this in theory only because our lifestyle right now only fits a two cat household.;) )

    Like

    • Liz Johns / Jan 7 2011 10:25 am

      Hi Georgia. I’m lucky enough to have 5 acres, so it’s bit bigger than a yard. I have 4 sheep on about 2.5 acres and that seems more than food for them (as fat Sean reveals.) If you have the space, I recommend sheep (at least two together as they are herd animals). And I also recommend getting lambs and bottle-feeding them as that keeps the sheep friendly as they get older. Otherwise, cats are really cool too 🙂

      Like

  5. Cymbria / Jan 14 2011 8:43 am

    It’s so wonderful to know that somewhere out there in this grand ol’ world of ours, there’s at least one being living in perfect bliss. Oh Sean, may you never loose your “what’re you lookin’ at” smug self-confidence ; )

    Like

    • Liz Johns / Jan 14 2011 3:22 pm

      Yes, we’ve so many lessons to learn from our animal friends, even the common, lowly sheep.

      Like

      • Cymbria / Jan 18 2011 4:53 am

        Better not let Sean catch you using those sorts of descriptors hehee! It’s a good thing sheep can’t read – but I guess that’s just another reason why your newly shorn fellow is so content lol.

        Like

      • Liz Johns / Jan 18 2011 8:42 pm

        And his hooves are too clunky to type the keyboard, so he’d never find the blog even if he could read 🙂

        Like

  6. Cymbria / Jan 19 2011 12:53 pm

    …cause Goat only knows white they’re write about us if they could <>

    Like

Leave a Reply

