Skip to content
6 June 2010 / Liz Johns

Sculptures: Is it What you Make, or What you Make it With?

What do wax crayons, matches, lego, vinyl records, and bubble gum have in common? Unless you peeked at the images below, you may not guess the answer so I’ll tell you – Sculpture. The creative talents of artists have transformed these humble objects into animal forms with dazzling effect.

Looking at these modern scultpures made me realise how important the medium of the artwork is to the finished piece. If I said to you, would you prefer to see animals carved out of a piece of clay or out of children’s wax crayons, which would you choose? The latter I suspect. The form is the same, in this case the animals, but the medium is different. That point of difference becomes an attractive feature that lifts the artwork out of the ordinary into the extraordinary. Something I assume all artists would like to achieve.

Thinking about the possible reasons for this I’ve concluded that: One, we’ve seen clay, bronze, and ceramic sculptures many, many times, so their effect has been weakened; Two, we are always attracted by the next new thing, something original to take us by surprise; or mostly likely Three, a combination of both.

Whatever the reason, the artworks shown here are wonderful and each one is a credit to its creator. My personal favourite though is Sean Kenney and his lego animals. Check out this website for other zoo-tastic models. This installation at the zoo is a similar idea to the balloon animals at Duncan Zoo, Oklahoma.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

More about the artists and their creations

Wax crayon animals – Artist Diem Chau.

Bubble gum porcupine – Artist Mauritzio Savini.

Vinyl record fish – Jacksonville Public Art Commission.

Lego monkeys – Artist Sean Kenney. Installation at Philadelphia Zoo.

Matchstick gorilla – Artist David Mach.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. silvercube / Jun 8 2010 3:55 pm

    Cool blog!
    Are you a design/art major?
    I’m minoring in Design in college 🙂

    Thanks for the comment on my blog!

    Like

  2. Liz Johns / Jun 8 2010 4:22 pm

    Thanks for the compliment silvercube.

    No, I’m not a designer, I’m just very fussy about how things look and read 🙂

    I’ll check by your blog again sometime. Cheers.

    Like

  3. ericahostetler / Jul 2 2010 7:23 am

    I really like the crayon art. Have you seen the AT&T commercials with the painted hands? Those are amazing. Thanks for putting this up.

    Like

  4. alienhippy / Jul 2 2010 7:02 pm

    Thanks for posting this, I hope you don’t mind if I reblog it. I have art and poetry on my blog. Most of my poems are about life and emotions. Most of my art is abstract, a little like my life. I am dyslexic and I live in a family of ASD’s, hence the abstract to most people, but for me it is normal. x

    Like

  5. how to pick up women / Apr 24 2013 8:36 am

    You really make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I in finding this matter to be really something which I feel I might by no means understand.

    It sort of feels too complicated and very
    large for me. I am taking a look ahead to your next publish, I will attempt to get the hold of it!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Sculptures: Is it What you Make, or What you Make it With? (via ANIMAL) « Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

